Maharaja Trophy auction: Abhinav the most expensive buy; Agarwal, Padikkal also fetch big money

Batters have been the flavour of the day on the Maharaja Trophy public sale in Bengaluru on Saturday, with Mayank Agarwal, Devdutt Padikkal, Manish Pandey all attracting large bids. Nevertheless, the largest bid was reserved for middle-order batter Abhinav Manoharwho was signed for INR 15 lakh by Shivamogga Lions, one of many two new franchises together with Mangalore Dragons within the six-team event that’s to run from August 13 to 29.

Agarwal was signed for INR 14 lakh by Bengaluru Blasters, whereas Padikkal (INR 13.2 lakh) and Pandey (INR 10.6 lakh) attracted the following highest bids, by defending champions Gulbarga Mystics and Hubli Tigers, respectively.

In all, over 700 cricketers from throughout the state have been slotted and auctioned throughout 4 teams. Class A included India and IPL gamers, whereas Class B comprised those that have performed within the BCCI tournaments on the senior stage. State gamers from throughout the BCCI’s age-group tournaments shaped Class C. All different gamers from the state have been bracketed in Class D.

Spin-bowling allrounders Shreyas Gopal and K Gowtham went to Lions and Dragons for INR 7.4 lakh and INR 6.6 lakh, respectively. In the meantime, Karun Nairat present taking part in minor county cricket in England, returned to Warriors for INR 6.8 lakh amid the stories of him seeking to pursue alternatives outdoors the state in home cricket. Nair hasn’t performed any type of cricket for Karnataka for over a yr.

Amongst youthful gamers, Nikin Joseat present taking part in within the rising staff’s Asia Cup in Sri Lanka, was snapped up for INR 7 lakh by Dragons. Jose had a prolific debut season throughout codecs, and is now thought-about an all-format common.

This yr, the event returns to a franchise mannequin following a season wherein the KSCA had full management of all cricketing points – proper from participant drafts to funds to the appointments of coaches and employees. On the time, aside from “restoring credibility” after the event had been struck by a collection of spot-fixing controversies, the KSCA mentioned the shift had been made holding in thoughts the nation’s tax legal guidelines.

At the moment, the KSCA’s cricket committee, headed by then president and former India allrounder Roger Binnyhad shaped a core group of six selectors – picked from throughout the six zones of the state – to participate within the draft course of, and funds have been uniform as per the grades to which gamers belonged.

Every staff will play the opposite 5 twice. The highest 4 will then compete in Qualifiers and Eliminator, similar to the IPL playoffs system. All matches will probably be performed on the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Maharaja Trophy squads

Gulbarga Mystics: Devdutt Padikkal, KP Appana, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Srinivas Sharath, LR Chethan, Aqib Jawad, R Smaran, KV Aneesh, Macneil Noronha, Sharan Goud, Abhilash Shetty, Hardik Raj, Shimon Luiz, Avinash D, Yashovardhan Parantap, Aadarsh ​​Prajwal, Abul Hasan Khalid, Shaun Joseph

Hubli Tigers: KC Cariappa, Pravin Dubey, Manish Pandey, Luvnith Sisodia, Shrijith KL, Mohammed Taha, Vidhwath Kaverappa, MB Darshan, Shivam MB, Naga Bharath, Santokh Singh, Mohith BA, Manvanth Kumar L, Mitrakant Singh Yadav, Malliksab G, Nathan D’mello, Rakshekar Harikant, Clement Raju

Shivamogga Lions: Abhinav Manohar, Shreyas Gopal, Nihal Ullal, Koushik V, Sharath HS, Kranthi Kumar, Rohan Kadam, Shreyas Puranik, Pranav Bhatia, Vinay Sagar, Aditya Somanna, Adhoksh Hegde, Pavan Shridi, Rohan Naveen, Shivaraj, Rohit Kumar Ok, Nischith Rao, Deepak Devadiga

Mysuru Warriors: Karun Nair, Suchith J, Prasidh Krishna, Shoaib Supervisor, Samarth R, Karthik CA, Manoj Bhandage, Venkatesh M, Tushar Singh, Kushal Wadhwani, Shashi Kumar Ok, Rakshith S, Shreesha S Achar, Monish Reddy, Aditya Mani, Gautam Mishra, Rahul Singh Rawat, Bharath Dhuri

Bengaluru Blasters: Mithun A, Mayank Agarwal, Pradeep T, Mohammed Sarfaraz Ashraf, Pavan Deshpande, Shubhang Hegde, Nishchal D, Vidyadhar Patil, Jeshwanth Acharya, Jasper EJ, Kumar LR, Mohsin Khan, Aashish Mahesh, Rishi Bopanna, Suraj Ahuja, Aaron Christie, Abhishek Ahlawat, Aman Khan

Mangalore Dragons: Ronit Extra, Krishnappa Gowtham, Krishnamurthy Siddharth, Nikin Jose, BR Sharath, Prateek Jain, Aniruddha Joshi, Rohan Patil, Gaurav Dhiman, BU Shivakumar, Thippa Reddy, Aaditya Nair, Aditya Goyal, Doddamani Anand, Kruthik Krishna, Gneshwar Naveen, Dheeraj Gowda, Aneeshwar Gautam

Shashank Kishore is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Source link

USASports – #Maharaja #Trophy #public sale #Abhinav #costly #purchase #Agarwal #Padikkal #fetch #large #cash

Printed : 2023-07-22 18:42:31

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button