Irish Rugby | Ireland U20s Team Named To Face Australia

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Eire U20s Match Day Squad, sponsored by PwCfor Thursday’s World Rugby U20 Championship sport in opposition to Australia in Paarl, South Africa (Kick-off 11am native time/10am Irish time).

There are 4 modifications to the Eire beginning group from Saturday’s opening Pool B draw with England, as James Nicholson, Ronan Foxe, Charlie Irvine and Brian Gleeson come into the XV.

Nicholson is called on the left wing as a part of the Eire again three with Henry McErlean and Andrew Osbornewith Hugh Gavin and John Devine forming the midfield partnership. Sam Prendergast and Fintan Gunn proceed within the half-backs.

Within the pack, Paddy McCarthy strikes throughout the entrance row to loosehead prop, with captain Gus McCarthy at hooker and Foxe in line for his U20s debut at tighthead. Irvine comes into the aspect to associate Conor O’Tighearnaigh within the engine room, whereas James McNabney, Ruth Quinn and Gleeson make up the again row.

On the bench, Danny Sheahan, George Morris, Barrett’s debt, Evan O’Connell and Diarmuid Mangan present the ahead choices, with scrum-half Jack Oliver set to win his first U20s cap. Harry West and Rory Telfer full the Match Day Squad.

Talking forward of the match, Murphy mentioned: “It has been a fast turnaround from Saturday however we have been in a position to flip the web page positively, and be taught from our first outing of the match. We all know the very nature of this World Rugby U20 Championship is that the massive video games come thick and quick and dealing with the Junior Wallabies is one other large take a look at for our group. We’re wanting ahead to the problem.”

Thursday’s match is stay on Virgin Media Two in Republic of Eire and on World Rugby platforms the place there is no such thing as a native broadcaster.

Eire U20s (v Australia, U20 World Championship, Thursday, June 29):

15. Henry McErlean (Terenure/Leinster)
14. Andrew Osborne (Naas/Leinster)
13. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians/Connacht)
12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht)
11. James Nicholson (UCD/Leinster)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure/Leinster)

1. Paddy McCarthy (Dublin College/Leinster)
2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)(captain)
3. Ronan Foxe (Previous Belvedere/Leinster)*
4. Charlie Irvine (Queen’s College/Ulster)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena/Ulster)
7. Ruth Quinn (Previous Crescent/Munster)
8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster)


16. Danny Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
17. George Morris (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connaught)
19. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
20. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster)
21. Jack Oliver (Garryowen/Munster)
22. Harry West (Buccaneers/Connacht)
23. Rory Telfer (Queen’s College/Ulster).

*Denotes uncapped at U20 stage

Source link

USASports – #Irish #Rugby #Eire #U20s #Group #Named #Face #Australia

Printed : 2023-06-27 08:55:37

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button