McDavid wins Hart Trophy as NHL MVP a 3rd time

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Edmonton Oilers heart Connor McDavid swept the NHL’s high particular person awards to cap his career-best season on the NHL Awards on Monday.

McDavid gained the Hart Trophy because the league’s most useful participant and the Ted Lindsay Award because the NHL Gamers’ Affiliation’s most excellent participant. It was McDavid’s third Hart Trophy win, after having been nominated 5 occasions. Boston Bruins star To David Pastr completed second for MVP, whereas the Florida PanthersMatthew Tkachuk was third. McDavid earned 195 first-place votes for the Hart Trophy, with Pastrnak getting the one different first-place vote.

McDavid additionally turns into solely the third four-time recipient of the NHLPA’s most excellent participant award, becoming a member of Wayne Gretzky (5) and Mario Lemieux (4).

McDavid was probably the most dominant offensive drive within the NHL this previous season. He gained his fifth Artwork Ross Trophy for main the league with 153 factors. That was 30 factors greater than his profession excessive set final season and made him the primary skater since Lemieux in 1995-96 to attain 150 factors. McDavid gained the Rocket Richard Trophy with a career-best 64 objectives, as effectively.

After successful the Hart Trophy, McDavid gave a shoutout to his new fiancée, Lauren Kyle, saying he would not be up on stage with out her help.

The Bruins, who set new NHL regular-season information for wins (65) and factors (135), walked away with three main awards.

Boston’s Jim Montgomery gained the Jack Adams Award for coach of the 12 months, ending forward of Lindy Ruff of the New Jersey Devils and Dave Hakstol of the Seattle Kraken.

Bruins star Patrice Bergeron constructed on his NHL file for Selke Trophy wins, capturing the award for the NHL’s finest defensive ahead for a sixth time. He was additionally the Selke winner final season. Devils heart Nico Hischier was a distant second, whereas Toronto Maple Leafs winger Mitchell Marner was third.

And goaltender Linus Ullmark gained the Vezina Trophy because the league’s finest goaltender after posting a powerful 40-6-1 file for Boston, which set NHL regular-season information for wins and factors as a staff. Ullmark completed forward of Ilya Sorokin of the New York Islanders and Connor Hellebuyck of the Winnipeg Jets.

Ullmark, a first-time NHL Awards finalist, is the fourth Bruins goaltender to win the Vezina underneath the present choice standards (since 1981-82), becoming a member of Pete Peeters (1982-83), Tim Thomas (2008-09, 2010-11) and Tuukka Rask (2013-14).

“Large honor,” Ullmark stated. “I wish to thank the entire Bruins group for welcoming my household with open arms.”

Erik Karlsson of the San Jose Sharks gained the Norris Trophy because the NHL’s high defenseman for the third time in his profession, capping a comeback season that noticed him lead all blueliners with 101 factors in 82 video games. Karlsson final gained the award in 2014-15.

The New York RangersAdam Fox and the Colorado Avalanche‘s Cale Makar completed behind Karlsson.

Kraken Middle Matty Beniers got here away with the Calder Trophy because the NHL rookie of the 12 months, marking the primary time the growth franchise had captured an NHL award. Edmonton Oilers goalie Stuart Skinner was second, whereas Buffalo Sabres defenseman Owen Power was third.

Los Angeles Kings heart Anze Kopitar gained the Woman Byng Trophy because the NHL’s most gentlemanly participant for the second time, having beforehand earned the award in 2015-16. Jack Hughes of the Devils completed a detailed second within the voting, whereas Tampa Bay Lightning heart Brayden Point positioned third.

Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Kris Letang was offered the Invoice Masterton Memorial Trophy because the participant who “finest exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.” Letang suffered a stroke for the second time in his life and mourned the dying of his father inside a span of 4 weeks throughout the season.

“I am not going to lie. I all the time dreamt about being up right here and successful one thing, however this is not the one. It all the time means one thing unhealthy occurred,” joked Letang, who was nominated for the Norris Trophy as soon as in his profession. Letang thanked his medical doctors, his teammates and his spouse for his or her assist in his restoration.

He’s the primary Penguin to win the Masterton Trophy since Lemieux in 1992-93. Different finalists for the Masterton have been Clayton Keller of the Arizona Coyotes and Alex Stalock of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Tampa Bay Lightning captain Steven Stamkos gained the Mark Messier NHL Management Award for his work on and off the ice. “It is numerous duty being a pacesetter. I have been very lucky to play with some excellent gamers all through my profession,” stated Stamkos. “I have been very lucky to be part of the Tampa group for 15 years.”

Calgary Flames heart Mikael Backlund gained the King Clancy Award, offered “to the participant who finest exemplifies management qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his group.” Backlund will obtain a $25,000 donation from the Nationwide Hockey League Basis to learn a charity or charities of his alternative.

Connor Bedard, who is anticipated to be taken first general by the Chicago Blackhawks in Wednesday’s NHL Draft, was given the E.J. McGuire Award of Excellence, handed to “the candidate who finest exemplifies dedication to excellence by means of energy of character, competitiveness, and athleticism.”

Jason McCrimmon of Detroit, Michigan, was given the 2023 Willie O’Ree Neighborhood Hero Award, given to a person who — by means of the game of hockey — has positively impacted their group, tradition or society in the USA. McCrimmon is the President and Founding father of Detroit Ice Desires Youth Hockey Affiliation, a nonprofit youth hockey group.

The Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation votes for the Hart, Norris, Calder, Selke and Woman Byng; the Skilled Hockey Broadcasters Affiliation votes for the Jack Adams; NHL basic managers vote on the Vezina Trophy, whereas NHL affiliated panels vote for GM of the 12 months and different awards.

Source link

USASports – #McDavid #wins #Hart #Trophy #NHL #MVP #third #time

Printed : 2023-06-27 09:24:20

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button